• +234 803 579 3328
  • Ibadan Oyo State
  • info@fscpolyibadan.edu.ng

Faculty of Science
The Polytechnic Ibadan

  About  faculty of science

The Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science at the inception of the Institution was composed of the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics. The Faculty was running professional courses in Science as well as Advanced Level Examination of the General Certificate in Education (AL) in all Science and Mathematics subjects. The Advanced level programmes were phased out following the establishment of the Oyo State College of Arts and Science while new professional courses in Science were introduced. By the middle 80’s the National and Higher National Diploma in Statistics were introduced. The department of Geology which hitherto was in the Faculty of Environmental Studies was also transferred to the Faculty of Science.

Academic Departments

The faculty is comprised of eight departments. The departments are listed below :

  • Biology Department
  • Chemistry Department
  • Computer Studies Department
  • Geology
  • Mathematics & Statistics Department
  • Physics Department
  • Science Laboratory Technology Department
  • Library & Information Science Department

Students Association

Students’ academic and professional associations exist in all academic departments of the Faculty of Science. The associations are

  • National Association of Computer Science Students (NASCOSS)
  • Association of Statistics students of Nigeria (ASSON)
  • National Association of Science Technology Students (NASTES) for
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Physics
    • Science Laboratory Technology Students
  • National Association of Geological and Mining Students (NAGAMS)
The umbrella association of all these associations is the Faculty of Science Students Association (FASSA)

Past Deans
Mrs V. O. Yoloye 1976 – 1982
Dr J. A. Adejumobi 1982 – 1984
Mr. B. O.B. Fagbemi 1984 – 1986
Dr. I. A. Asaolu 1986 - 1987
Dr. S. O.A. Olaoye 1987 – 1990
Dr. J. A. Adejumobi 1990 – 1991
Mr. E. A. Aderounmu 1991 -1995
Dr (Mrs) A. O. Osofisan 1995 – 1997
Dr. I. O. Ayeni 1997 – 2001
Dr (Mrs) M. O. Sanni 2001 – 2005
Mr T. O. Osungbaro 2005 – 2007
Mr M. O. Ogundiya 2007 – 2009
Mrs A. O. Olubamiwa 2009 – 2013
Mrs O. O. Salawu 2013 - 2017

Faculty Staff
Team Spirit at its Best

Mr F.M. Ayinla
Dean of Faculty

Mrs Ojewunmi
Faculty Officer

Assistant Faculty Officer

Faculty Secretary

Copyright © 2018, Faculty of Science, The Polytechnic Ibadan. All right reserved
Developed by Computer Studies Department